Tony Rudner

Tony hails from South Africa and immigrated to Canada in 1991, where he now resides, in North Vancouver. 

He has been in the music industry for more than 40 years, as a performer, recording artist, composer, session guitarist, producer, songwriter, recording engineer, educator and record label executive. 

Tony has produced 53 albums, composed the music for 29 feature films, countless ads for radio and television, and 17 television shows, including two South African hit series, No Jacket Required and 'Sgudi 'Snaysi

He also composed the opening theme for the 

London International Advertising Awards.

He has had a successful career as a live musician primarily as the leader of the critically acclaimed, R & B Fusion band, Sweet Ride, which won the South African national jazz competition in 1984 and went on to record their debut album with EMI Records. More recently, he and fellow guitarist, Andreas Schuld, formed the exciting acoustic guitar duo, Schuld and Rudner.

Tony has recorded and written songs with many legendary artists, songwriters, and musicians, both in South Africa and North America. In addition to his achievements as a multi-award winning record producer and EMI recording artist, he was a staff songwriter for BMG and Zomba, writing songs with academy and grammy award winning songwriters.

name Dropping


Some of the musicians, producers, directors, singers and songwriters I have recorded with, performed with, written or worked with, include : 


Paul Williams - Manfred Mann - Willie Weeks - Dr. Lonnie Smith - Alfie Zappacosta - Raul Malo - Dan Dugmore - Greg Barnhill - Jonathan Butler -  Jonathan Yudkin - Michael Rhodes - Pat Buchanan - John Willis - Peter Sarstedt - Bruce Cassidy - Mike Faure - Steve Brewster - Jerry McPherson - Pete Huttlinger -Thembi Mtshali - Johnny Fourie - Vusi Khumalo - Anant Singh - Shan Moodley - Mike Makhalemele - Stephanie Bentley - Tia Sillers - Robbie Turner - Farmer's Daughter - Jim Byrnes - Kostas Lazarides - Mike Sanyshyn - Tianna Lefebvre Sanyshyn - Tom Colclough - Raphael Geronimo - Jack Duncan - Norm Fisher - Brian Newcombe - Kerry Galloway - Randall Stoll -  Andreas Schuld - Tania Hancheroff - Hilton Rosenthal - Clarke Schleicher - Supa Frika - Lionel Petersen - Cedric Samson - Nippy Cripwell - Avzal Ismail - Felicia Marion - Tim Hoare - Rob Watson - Denny Lalouette - Cecil Mitchell - Vicky Sampson - Ivor Back - Pete Sklair - Manding Jata - Maciek Schejbal - Rachel Matkin - Beverley Staunton - Brent Howard Knudsen - Brad Mates - Aaron Pritchett - Bobbi Smith - Joani Bye - Dehara September - Michael Creber - Dave Pickell - Oliver Gannon - Randy Raine-Reusch - Ron Irving - Ken Burke - Keith Stein - Steven McClintock - Brent Gubbels - Robbie Steininger - Daryl Burgess - Steve Maddock - Bob Simon - Patrick Dollaghan - Gord Maxwell - Larry Boone - Jim Allison - Phil Swann - Ed Redlich - John Bellucci - Michael Rymer - and many other equally talented individuals.

Awards and Nominations